Opera Theater Pittsburgh      
     
     
 BRUNDIBÀR          BEGGAR'S HOLIDAY          THE LOVE SPELL          BEAUTIFUL DREAMERS
     
 
ABOUT US
COMPETITIONS
YOUNG ARTISTS
PAST
SEASON
BUY TICKETS
SUPPORT
NEWS & EVENTS
PAST SEASONS
OUTREACH
BOOKING
CONTACT US

Beautiful Dreamers - World Premiere!!

Director Martin Giles
Music Director Douglas Levine

Co-production with Pittsburgh Irish & Classical Theatre

Venue: Charity Randall Theatre in the Stephen Foster Memorial, Oakland

Beautiful Dreamers is a new music drama with a story created by Martin Giles that incorporates many of Stephen Foster’s most beloved songs and ballads. Follow Moses Walker in an American Odyssey across the United States just before the Civil War as he discovers life, love, and loss—and leave the Stephen Foster Memorial with a spring in your step and a song in your heart!
Beautiful Dreamers is an epic human comedy that uses the great songs of Stephen Foster to help tell the story of a young man's journey across mid-19th Century America and into the heart of the American Dream.
Moses Walker, his heart broken by a love betrayed, sets off on a journey to the West from New York in search of love, self, freedom, home. He finds companions along the way--a Virginia widow and a runaway slave--and together they cross mighty rivers, the Great Plains, the Rockies and Sierras, and come to the shining Pacific. They find the Oregon Trail and the Badlands of the Dakotas. They meet Walt Whitman, Emily Dickinson and Sam Clemens, soldiers and Indians, an inept early chapter of the Klan, rabid ghosts, stolid homesteaders, bitter 49ers, burlesque acts, white slavers and a fringe religious sect. They experience love and loss, hilarity, passion and death -- the making of a Nation in an overwhelming landscape.
Everyone knows that Stephen Collins Foster, America’s first professional songwriter, is a favorite son of Pittsburgh, but did you know that the world’s largest repository for material’s concerning Foster is housed at the Stephen Foster Memorial and is part of the Center for American Music Library at the University of Pittsburgh?


Performances:
Thursday, April 15 at 8pm Preview
Friday, April 16 at 8pm Preview
Saturday, April 17 at 8pm Opening
Sunday, April 18 at 2pm
Wednesday, April 21 at 8pm Pre-show Lecture
Thursday, April 22 at 8pm Pre-show Lecture
Friday, April 23 at 8pm
Saturday, April 24 at 8pm
Sunday, April 25 at 2pm

Tuesday, April 27 at 7pm Professional Tuesday

Wednesday, April 28 at 8pm
Thursday, April 29 at 8pm
Friday, April 30 at 8pm
Saturday, May 1 at 2pm
Saturday, May 1 at 8pm

Wednesday, April 14 at 10 AM, Student Matinee
Wednesday, April 21 at 2 PM, Student Matinee